Three Newspapers Blowing by on a Snowy Day

icicles-10-28-14-alhudgins

.

What fell, I felt, were razor flakes:

their edges sharpened my mistakes,

the flurry of regrets I’d stored,

confessions I found hard to make.

.

The breeze beyond my window soared

and down the empty street implored

two acrobats to skate on by,

a circus I could not ignore.

.

Theirs was a teasing way to fly,

a zigzag game of Tag the Sky.

A third slid in, a harlequin

of retail logos, smooth and sly,

.

spread-eagled first, then leaping wind

to sudden heights—and this is when

I realize they’re lifeless sheets:

and I’ve projected dance on them.

.

My heart’s eclipse cannot deplete

this joy I beam to paper feet

to animate a lonely street

to animate a lonely street

.

.

© 2015 Al Hudgins

Leave a Reply

